Green Tea Pills and Health Benefits


In the beginning of the year when I was trying some more diets, I was taking some green tea pills. I bought the bottle because it said that it helps you lose weight and I was at the stage of trying everything. I had to take them 20 mins before every meal. Well for some reason or another I stopped taking them. Well I went to BJs and saw that they had them on sell, two for one. I thought to myself, why aren’t I not taking these again. So I bought them and I started taking them this week. All I knew about them was that they help in weight lost and nothing helps. So I thought, if I’m going to take something for my health, why aren’t I looking up the benefits of it lol. So I went to my new favorite site; Organic Facts and looked it up. Here’s what I found:

Green tea contains bioactive substances called polyphenols. Catechins are a group of polyphenols abundantly found in green tea. Studies have shown that catechins can prevent weight gain in humans, particularly the accumulation of visceral fat.

Researchers found out in one epidemiological study involving 1103 Taiwanese adults that habitual tea drinkers, who sipped green tea at least once a week for more than a decade, lost 20% body fat and 2% abdominal fat compared to those who just drank tea occasionally. A similar 14-year study, concerning 4,280 Netherland tea drinkers, observed an inverse relationship between the amount of catechins consumed and body mass index (BMI).

A growing body of research has investigated the effects of green tea substances on weight loss. In documented experiments, test subjects who drank catechin-rich green tea over a 12-week period reaped weight-loss and BMI-related benefits such as lower body weight and fat mass, trimmer waist and hipline, and less LDL cholesterol.

Data also suggest that green tea catechins can help prevent lifestyle diseases such as obesity. It is very important to note that the participants in these experiments did not modify their caloric intake or physical activities save that of adding green tea to their diet.

There is a lot more information than I can place here so why not finish reading the article yourself. Here’s the link; Can Green Tea Help With Weight Loss?

20121114-104338.jpg

Leave a Reply

