Strength Training VS Cardio


CONSCIOUS QUOTES by Ahimsa Deisgns Jewelry. Original Handcrafted, Conscious, Vegan, Zen Jewelry Designs promoting global awareness & using only Earth-Friendly & Cruelty-Free materials.Strength vs. Cardio when you're short on time?

When I first started working out, years ago. I use to love doing cardio because the feeling of your body continuously moving felt great. Now that I’m going to the gym and using BodySpace as my guide to help figuring out what exercises to do, I think I love strength training more. To me, your body does more. With cardio, you continuously do the same thing for however long you want but with strength training, you do a lot more in the same length of time. Once I was done and looked at my log, I found out that I did 9 freaking exercises, NINE! It didn’t seem that way because I was going from one exercise to another.

First, before I say anything else, I want to have a disclaimer here: I’m not a vegan, I eat meat. Right now I don’t because my body is undergoing a clean right now.

One thing about being vegan, I’m finding out, is that it’s easier this time around than 2 years ago. There are a lot more items out now that vegan. Today Star and I went to Publix and while we was walking an aisle, a miso soup package caught my eye. Now I am missing heavier foods like pasta and rice and stuff because I’ve been eating mostly fruits, veggies and bars. I enjoy what I’m eating and that’s why I’ve been vegan for over a week while that last time, I barely lasted 3 days. So anyway, I took a look at it and to my freaking surprise itΒ  was VEGAN. Not only that one but others too. I also got a Split Pea Soup. *happy dance*

I’ve lost 3 lbs so far and I’m happy to see that number go down. I wonder how long I can take being vegan before my body craves in for meat lol. I eat meat no lie. I’m also happy that when I pass by a fast food place, the smell of the food doesn’t tempt me anymore. I smell and go yuck. That’s a sign to me that my body is on the right track and when I want to have a cheat day, it’ll be my choice and not my body.

May 9, 2014

Foods Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Coffee – Brewed from grounds, 1 cup (8 fl oz) 2 0g 0g 0g 0mg 5mg 0g 0g
Mid-Morning
Sugar Snap – Peas, Raw, 10 Pods (34g) 14 3g 0g 1g 0mg 0mg 1g 1g
Soy sauce, 1 tsp 3 0g 0g 0g 0mg 299mg 0g 0g
Lunch
Whole Foods – Small Garden Salad, 1 container 150 50g 4g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Mt. Olive – Sweet ‘n Hot Salad Peppers, 7 pieces (28g) 40 9g 0g 0g 0mg 180mg 7g 0g
Mid-Afternoon
Coffee – Instant, regular, 8 fl oz 5 1g 0g 0g 0mg 5mg 0g 0g
Dinner
Cliff Bar – White Chocolate Macadamia Nut, 1 bar 250 41g 7g 9g 0mg 240mg 21g 4g
Silk Unsweetened Soy Milk – Silk Organic Unsweetened Soy Milk, 1 cup 80 3g 4g 7g 0mg 70mg 1g 2g
Raw Fit – Protein Shake, 1 scoop 100 6g 3g 12g 0mg 25mg 0g 1g
Triple Leaf Tea – Herbal Laxative, 8 oz 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 644 113g 18g 29g 0mg 824mg 30g 8g
Exercises Calories Minutes Sets Reps Weight
Cardiovascular
Walking, 3.0 mph, mod. pace, walking dog 101 30
Strength Training
Alternate Hammer Curl 1 12 10
Dumbbell Row, One-Arm, Bent-Over 2 12 15
Incline Dumbbell Curl 2 12 5
Leg Press 4 12
Calf Press On The Leg Press Machine 4 12
Ab Crunch Machine 3 12 30
Lying Leg Curls 2 12 30
Leg Pull-In, Seated Flat Bench 2 12 30
Reverse Sit-Up 1 12
TOTALS: 101 30 21 108 120
Leave a Reply

